Skip to content

Paleo Fruit and Nut bread

This paleo friendly bread sweetened only by dried fruit is a great treat for a mid morning snack.

Sometimes you just have a craving for bread and prior to going gluten free I used to love my Sunday breakfast which would involve a soy latte, fruit and nut sourdough bread with jam and ricotta. Now there are a few issues with what I was eating you see, I would consume my breakfast and while absolutely delicious, would then have waves of dizziness, nausea followed by a fast heart rate followed by feeling tired. Little did I know this was all related to my newly diagnosed autoimmune disease called Graves Disease.

Since being diagnosed my diet has changed dramatically I have given up on coffee (which surprisingly was ALOT easier than I anticipated), given up on soy products which affect my overactive thyroid, removed gluten from my diet, limited my dairy intake dramatically and cut down on my sugar intake. So, my favourite Sunday breakfast seemed like it was no more. Until this delicious fruit and nut bread came into my world. I grabbed this recipe from Simply Gluten-Free  and just mixed it up with things i had in the pantry and I have to say yes it does taste as wonderful as it looks! It’s sweet, moist and delicious, loving this as my new Sunday morning treat with a pot of herbal tea.

Ingredients

1 cup organic almond butter
2 tablespoons coconut oil (liquefied) plus more for preparing the pan
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon lemon juice
¼ cup tapioca starch
1 teaspoon fine sea salt
¼ teaspoon baking soda
½ cup Medjool dates, pitted and chopped
½ cup dried apricots, cut into small dice
1 cup roasted pumpkin and sunflower seeds

Directions

Preheat oven to 200 degrees celcius. Brush an 8 inch by 4 inch loaf pan with some coconut oil. Line the pan with a piece of parchment paper and brush the paper with a little more coconut oil.

Combine the  almond butter, 2 tablespoons coconut oil, eggs and lemon juice in a mixing bowl and whisk until smooth. Mix the tapioca starch with the salt and baking soda and add to the almond butter mixture until fully combined. Stir in the chopped dates. Reserve a tablespoon of the chopped apricots and stir the rest into the mixture. Reserve a tablespoon of the seeds and stir the rest into the mixture. Pour the batter into the prepared pan, smooth the top with a spatula, sprinkle the top with the reserved apricots and seeds and gently press them into the top of the bread. Bake for 40 minutes or until the bread is browned and a toothpick inserted into the center of the bread comes out clean. Let cool in the pan for at least 15 minutes.

Sit back, relax and enjoy!

fruit and nut bread pre oven

183

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

