Skip to content

Mustard pork chops

I have gotten to a stage in my life now where I look so forward to being at home on the couch, eating something delicious and watching my shows especially on a Friday night. A few years ago I would be counting down the minutes to have a bottle of wine but these days I count down the minutes til I can get into my comfy clothes and a meal. I look forward to it so much that I will sometimes ensure I have absolutely no plans locked in on the weekend so I can make the most of it and do what I want. It then means I can wake up on Monday feeling somewhat refreshed for the week. I do, however, sometimes feel like I’m being extremely anti-social but I cant help it! I think it is because in the past I have always overbooked myself for everything to the point where I never feel like I have had a break.

So that’s where I am, I’m at home, watching my shows, I had a pretty busy day yesterday doing the Coogee to Bondi walk with some friends. It is such a stunning walking, and given the winter weather yesterday was actually quite warm and sunny it made for a lovely day. In the evening my plan was to getting into my comfy wear, relax and do the things I needed to do like wash my make up brushes, plan the weekly meals, write on this blog and watch the Man U vs All Stars game. I did actually end up going out, JP and I went to the pub to watch the game and meet up with some friends. One drink led to another and after not drinking for over 3 weeks it didn’t take long for me to feel the effects. I kind of wish i didnt drink last night I have only just started eating Paleo and trying to healthy and going out resulted in me consuming something with gluten which I regret and my body regretted so much as well <insert sad face>

What I need to be eating instead of stupid gluten is this mustard pork, oh my god was this good so moist and delicious. I saw this recipe on The Freckled Foodie only amending it slightly for the sauce factor.

I  teamed it up with some braised sour cabbage and it was so warming and comforting. YUM

IMG_1239

Mustard Pork chops with Sauce

Ingredients

  • 2 boneless pork chops
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 2 tbsp dijon mustard
  • 2 tbsp coconut aminos
  • 1/2-1 tbsp minced garlic
  • salt and pepper
  • 2 green shallots
  • 1/2 cup mushrooms
  • 1/2 cup chicken stock
  1. Put pork chops in a zip lock bag and plan all ingredients excluding the final four. Marinade for at least an hour if possible
  2. When ready to cook add the olive oil to the pan and add salt and pepper to the chops
  3. Place the pork on the pan and cook for about 4 mins uncovered
  4. Then turn the pork over and cover with a lid for 5 mins
  5. Take the pork out and put on a plate and cover with foil
  6. In the same pan place the remaining sauce that was in the ziplock bag and simmer
  7. Add the chicken stock and stir through
  8. Add the mushrooms and shallots. Mix through the sauce
  9. Plate up the pork and with the juices pour into the sauce and mix up
  10. Place the sauce over the pork
  11. Team up with your favourite veggie side and eat!

IMG_1244

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

